Dark Dreamers

5189q3Bz10L__SL500_AA240_I just recently learned of this series. Dark Dreamers is a collection of interviews with several of the strongest minds in horror. The interviews are conducted and compiled by Stanley Wiater, considered by many to be one of the leading journalist on the horror field. There is a book I haven’t seen yet, and there was a Canadian TV series that is available on DVD.

I just picked up the DVD’s, it’s a 4 disc set with over 10 hours of content that features interviews with Forrest J. Ackerman, Clive Barker, Richard Matheson, Harlan Ellison, Richard Laymon, Wes Craven, Jon Landis, Jack Ketchum, Douglas Clegg, John Skipp… and a mess of others.

There are people on here I wasn’t familiar with at all, and names I know but haven’t read in addition to people I do like. I’ve only gotten to watch the first 5 or 6 interviews so far, but it’s been really interesting. The interviews focus not only on the artists careers, but also the nature of the craft and the passion that drove those careers. The interviews were conducted between 2000 and 2001, but because of the nature of the interviews that doesn’t date the information. I have seen suggestion that Wiater intends to resurrect the series and conduct future interviews, and the DVD set does say “Volume 1.” I’m not sure when or if that is happening, but I certainly hope so.

I’ve always found interviews such as these that look at craft and creativity as being really fascinating and motivating. Wiater put this series together with more passion than money and I really hope he continues where he left off. It’s a labor of love that has delivered a level of insight you don’t get from the average PR interviews. A few of the people on this collection are dead now, and a few are the first on screen interviews of certain participants.

Here is a segment of the Harlan Ellison interview to wet your whistle…

Leave a Reply

